It’s the most wonderful time of the year again– and no, I’m not talking about the holiday season.

I’m talking about college application season. High school seniors know what I’m talking about. Tis’ the season to be stressed as you balance school, extra curricular activities, taking SATs, trying to make time for family and friends, and College Applications.

Here’s a piece you may consider as you spend more time on the College Board website, and click between tabs of different colleges and universities on your browser: Getting away from home could be the best thing for you.

When I graduated from high school, I had friends that went across the country, and friends that chose the community college in my home town. It’s a personal choice, and you have to do what’s best for you.

Of course, a lot more factors into college than your final destination. You have to consider academic programs, cost, distance, and the like.

It’s food for thought. I chose to leave home. Like, get far away from home. Like, I made a mad dash from my high school after graduation.

I knew it was what was best for me. It’s not that I don’t love my parents, and don’t want to see them. It’s not that I didn’t have friends that I would miss, because the case is quite contrary. It’s a part of learning how to live on your own.

I have a tendency, let’s say, to try to avoid problems and conflict. That if I can’t do something, I’ll ask my mom for help. If I don’t know what to do, I’ll let it sit and stew for awhile while I try to figure it out. Being out-of-state and away from my parents has forced me to face problems, and not try to run away from them.

I could have chosen to go to school approximately 45 minutes away home, but instead I’m a full 7 hours away. I have to solve problems of life, such as how to make balanced meals on my own. (Because no matter how cool your dining options are at your dream school, you will get tired of them. It’s the truth.) I have to solve problems of getting around town and finding things on my own. (So if I go west of the university, I should hit a Target right? What do you mean Google maps is saying it will take 20 minutes to get there?!?)

It helps you enter the adult world. I know they say high school never ends, but at some point, you have to let go. When you go to college, no one cares that you were the star quarter back, the homecoming queen, the student body president, or the tuba player in the marching band. Sure, these are topics that will likely come up in conversation, but no one at your new school is going to bow down to the prom queen. That’s not to say you can’t keep up with your high school as a proud alumni, but check-ins now and then should be your maximum.

On that note, no one from college cares about what happened in high school. They don’t know your friends, they don’t know the atmosphere, and quite frankly, they just don’t care. Make new friends, and do things together that will make new memories. So when you’re dropped into a pool of all new faces, even out of state, you’ll find someone to eat with in the dining hall.

Being on my own (with a few really close friends!) Has forced me to take care of myself and manage my own problems. It’s strengthened my character (because you never forget the first time you accidentally shrink your favorite pajamas in the dryer) and I’ve proven to myself that I can, in fact, care for myself.

But you’ll figure it out, and if not, mom is always a phone call away.